Alumni Of Distinction Award Program

Nominations are due by November 16th for the 15th annual “Alumni of Distinction Award Program,” according to James W. Bacon, steering committee chairman. Anyone interested in submitting a former Springfield City School District graduate’s name must complete the official Nomination Form and provide a current photo of the nominee, he reported.

This program is designed to recognize former students of the Springfield City School District who have made outstanding accomplishments in their community or career following graduation. Awards will be presented at a public ceremony on Friday, April 24th, 2020, at the Courtyard by Marriott-Downtown Springfield.

To nominate a former student for the award, two letters of recommendation should be attached to an official form and submitted by the deadline. These Nomination Forms are available at the superintendent’s office, 1500 West Jefferson Street; the Clark County Library and the Heritage Center of Clark County. The school district website also includes the Nomination Form.

Former nominees who were not previously honored are still eligible, however updates to the original Nomination Forms must be received by the deadline for further consideration. This program is funded by donations from community businesses, individuals and foundations and is not paid for by tax dollars or school funds.

Alumni receiving this prestigious award must have graduated from SCSD at least ten years prior to receiving the award. They must have demonstrated significant achievements in at least one of the following: professional or occupational success; contributions to society; or service to country or other organizations. A recipient must be of excellent character.

This program was authorized by the Springfield City Board of Education in 2005 and is being carried out by the Alumni of Distinction Award Steering Committee. Other steering committee members are Richard A. Umbaugh, Wendy G. Ford, Marianne L. Nave, W. Eugene Barnett, Jr., Wanda Truss, Brian Nott, Bonnie L. Longo, James Ingledue, Elena Ackerson, Chris Williams and Springfield City School District Superintendent Robert F. Hill.