Distinguished Alumni Named for 2019

The fourteenth annual Springfield City School District “Alumni of Distinction Award” program is scheduled Friday evening April 12th, at 6:30 PM, at the Courtyard by Marriott – Downtown Springfield, 100 South Fountain Avenue, according to the Steering Committee Chairman James W. Bacon.

Alumni to be honored are Edgar A. Bircher, SHS Class of 1952, of Galveston, TX; Michael E. Carter, SSHS – 1978, of Vandalia, OH; Robert E. Chilton, NHS, – 1989, of Gahanna, OH; Randall M. Comer, NHS – 1988, of Springfield; Krista J. Dellapina, SSHS – 1987, of Washington, DC; Randy D. Ferryman, SSHS – 1971, of McLean, VA; Ashley R. Griffin, NHS  – 1997, of Bowie, MD and Richard M. Nedelman, NHS  – 1978, of Springfield.

Prepaid reservations are required by April 2nd to attend the dinner and awards presentation. The event is open to the public and anyone interested can make reservations at a meal cost of $32 per person. For reservation information, call Sherry Casto at (937) 505-2806. Reservation requests can also be mailed to the Alumni of Distinction Award Committee, 1500 West Jefferson Street, Springfield, OH 45506. Checks should be made out to Springfield City School District, marked in the memo: Alumni Award Dinner and postmarked by April 2nd in order to attend.

A special program is planned on Friday, April 12h, during morning school hours, to acquaint high school students with these outstanding alumni and their accomplishments. The student assembly will be followed by a tour of SHS and an Honorees Luncheon. The Friday events and dinner activities are being carried out by the Alumni of Distinction Award Steering Committee. These Alumni activities are provided through contributions from local businesses and individuals, Mr. Bacon emphasized.

The Alumni of Distinction Award program was established in 2005 by the Springfield Board of Education to recognize former students who have distinguished themselves through exemplary professional success and/or community service. The Steering Committee also includes founding members Richard A. Umbaugh, Wendy G. Ford, Marianne L. Nave plus W. Eugene Barnett, Jr., Wanda J. Truss, Brian Nott, Springfield City School District Superintendent Robert F. Hill, Bonnie L. Longo, Elena Ackerson, James W. Ingledue and Chris Williams.