Wright State adopting tuition guarantee program

Wright State University is adopting a program that guarantees the same annual cost of tuition, housing and dining over a four-year college career for newly admitted, degree-seeking undergraduate students who are Ohio residents.

Since these basic costs will be fixed for four years, the guarantee program will enable students and families to more confidently plan their finances and provide an incentive for graduating on time.

“The program will enhance degree progress, increase graduation and retention rates and make budget-planning for a college education more predictable,” said President Cheryl B. Schrader.

The program was approved by the Wright State Board of Trustees on Dec. 15 and the Ohio Department of Higher Education on Feb. 5.

Under the program, students will pay the exact same rate for tuition, housing and dining for 12 consecutive semesters.

The first cohort’s tuition rate will be approximately $4,627 per semester at the Dayton Campus and $3,096 per semester at the Lake Campus.

The Wright Guarantee Tuition Program will be in place at both the Dayton and Lake campuses. Available for newly admitted undergraduate, degree-seeking students who are Ohio residents, the program is not applicable to graduate, professional, international and currently enrolled undergraduate students. Currently enrolled undergraduate students will continue to pay the current tuition rate until the Ohio Legislature approves a tuition rate increase.

Wright State joins other Ohio public universities with similar tuition guarantee programs, including The Ohio State University, Miami University, Ohio University, Kent State University, University of Toledo, Bowling Green State University and Youngstown State University. Wright State will remain one of the most affordable universities in Ohio.


Additional news stories, media resources and media contacts can be found on the Wright State Newsroom or the Office of Communications website.

A Carnegie-classified research university, Wright State University’s main campus is 12 miles northeast of downtown Dayton, Ohio, near the historic landmarks where the Wright brothers taught the world to fly. The university operates a branch campus, Wright State University–Lake Campus, on the shores of Grand Lake St. Marys in Celina, Ohio. Wright State serves nearly 18,000 students and offers more than 190 undergraduate, graduate, doctoral, and professional degree programs through eight colleges and three schools, including Professional Psychology and the Boonshoft School of Medicine. For more information, please visit: www.wright.edu.